UK Consulting Recruiting 2026: The Dates Firms Publish
One London firm prints a 1 November 2026 deadline, its six stages and 150 minutes of interview time. UK graduate hiring is down 24.5 percent since 2022.
- OC&C prints a London deadline to the minute, 23:59 on Sunday 1 November 2026, and screens applications as they arrive rather than after the deadline.
- The same vacancy publishes all six stages and the length of each interview. Four interviews, two rounds, 150 minutes in total, and no group exercise anywhere in the list.
- It also states that some CV screening decisions may be taken by an internally developed AI tool without prior individual human review.
- The University of Cambridge careers service writes that assessment centres are not common for consulting roles. Our earlier version of this page said the opposite, and that claim is gone.
- High Fliers Research reports UK graduate recruitment down 24.5 percent since 2022 across the top 100 employers. Redoing the arithmetic shows that figure includes the 2026 target.
- No UK page read for this guide publishes a minimum degree classification. OC&C asks for a strong academic record and stops there.
Most UK guides describe a cycle. Almost none quote a date you can act on, because dates age and a general calendar is safer to write. So this page starts from what two firms had printed on their own pages on 30 September 2026, and says plainly where that stops.
The one UK consulting deadline printed to the minute
OC&C's London Associate Consultant vacancy for the 2027-28 intake, read in full on 30 September 2026, ends at "23:59 on Sunday 1st November 2026". That is a calendar date on a live page, from a firm that also publishes its starting salary and its start dates. Our UK firms page carries the pay side of that same vacancy.
Two sentences in the same posting matter as much as the date. The first is "Please note, we screen our applications on a rolling basis & will therefore review applications as we receive them." The second restricts you to a single bet: "candidates applying to the London office are invited to apply to one Associate Consultant position only (either Strategy or Analytics)."
Read together, those change the shape of the decision. A rolling screen means the last week of October is the worst week to submit, because the earlier files have already been read. The one-application rule means choosing between two tracks before you know how either interviews.
PA Consulting shows the other UK pattern. Its UK graduate programmes page, checked 30 September 2026, says "Our roles typically open in the autumn and we recruit on a rolling basis" and gives no date at all. Same country, same season, two different objects to plan against: a deadline, or a season with no edge.
Reading about a consulting firm is not preparing for a consulting firm.
Take the readiness checkSix stages and 150 minutes, as one London firm prints them
The OC&C vacancy lists every stage in order, with the duration and the seniority of the interviewer. No other UK firm page read for this guide does that.
| Step | What happens | Who runs it | Published length |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CV submission, name and contact details removed, no cover letter | Recruiting team, with an AI tool | Not stated |
| 2 | Online blended assessment, "numerical and critical reasoning questions alongside behavioural and motivational questions" | Assessment platform | Not stated |
| 3 | One-way video assessment, for candidates through stage 2 | Recorded, reviewed later | "short" |
| 4 | First round, two virtual case study interviews | Consultants and Managers | 2 x 30 minutes |
| 5 | Second round, two in-person case study interviews | Associate Partners and Partners | 2 x 45 minutes |
| 6 | Offer | The firm | Not stated |
Add the interview time the firm publishes. Two thirty-minute interviews make 60 minutes, two forty-five-minute interviews make 90, and 60 plus 90 is 150 minutes across four interviews and two rounds. Every one of the four is described as a case study interview, including the two with partners.
That last detail is the useful one. There is no separate fit round in this list. The motivational questions sit inside the stage 2 assessment, and the video assessment sits before any human conversation. A candidate who budgets preparation by round would put most of it in the wrong place.
An AI tool reads the CV before a person does
The same vacancy discloses how stage 1 works, in the firm's own words: "As part of our CV screening process, we use an internally developed AI tool to support our recruitment team in reviewing applications. The tool supports, rather than replaces, our recruitment process. Some CV screening decisions may be made using the tool without prior individual human review, subject to appropriate safeguards and human oversight, however, final recruitment decisions are made by people."
Two things follow, and only two. A CV may be rejected before any person opens it. And the firm commits to human decisions at the end of the process, which is a different promise from human review at the start.
The firm also asks candidates to strip identifying details: "We ask that all candidates remove their name and contact information from their CV before submitting alongside their application." So the document that the tool reads is a record of achievement with the name taken off.
What none of this tells you is what the tool weighs. The posting names no criteria, no score and no threshold, and we are not going to guess at one. The honest reading is narrower: the parts of a CV that survive anonymization are grades, employers, titles, dates and quantified outcomes, and those are the parts worth rewriting first. Our page on AI in consulting recruiting covers what firms have published about these tools elsewhere.
Whether an assessment centre is coming, and who says it is not
The University of Cambridge careers service guide runs to 19 pages on recruitment in management and strategy consulting, and was read on 30 September 2026. On the exercise that dominates UK graduate advice, it writes: "Assessment centres are not common for consulting roles, but in larger advisory firms you may find you are invited to one."
That is a UK university careers service, writing about UK recruiting, contradicting the common claim that assessment centres are a British speciality in consulting. The OC&C process supports it by omission: six stages, four case interviews, no group exercise, no presentation, no day in an office with other candidates.
The same guide says where they do appear, and what they are for. They sit late, after tests and video interviews. They mix group tasks with a social element, an office tour and time with current employees. And for technical roles the guide says expertise is under the spotlight, which is not true of the general graduate day it describes.
The practical consequence is a reallocation. If you are applying to strategy firms, the hours you were going to spend rehearsing group exercises belong in case interviews and in timed online tests. If you are applying to a large advisory firm, ask the recruiter directly whether the day exists, because the firm knows and the sector guide does not.
The term-based calendar a careers service prints and firms do not
Firm pages publish deadlines. The Cambridge guide publishes something firms never do: a month-by-month timetable split by year of study, written in British university terms. Reading it next to the vacancies above gives the shape of the year.
- Have the CV finished before the rush. The guide tells students to "Aim to have your CV ready by mid-August", which is weeks before most deadlines and before the autumn events start.
- Expect the process to start earlier than term. In its own words: "Be mindful of later Cambridge term dates; recruitment processes can begin as early as September."
- Treat Michaelmas as the peak. The guide states the sector is "Summer - Michaelmas (MT) heavy", and puts the busiest internship advertising between October and December for penultimate-year students.
- Watch Lent for the second wave. It writes that "Lent is the key time for roles that are off-cycle or for more experienced candidates", alongside direct entry roles and boutique firms from January.
- Keep a five-day reflex after applying. On online tests it warns that a link can arrive very quickly and gives "sometimes only 5 days to complete".
One more sentence from that guide explains why the penultimate summer matters more than any single deadline: "Some graduate roles are filled by interns- and that's why it can be tough to get a role directly from university without experience."
Are you ready to get an offer at a consulting firm?
Sponsorship narrowed at one firm between 2024 and 2026
In its 2024 global graduate brochure, OC&C wrote of the London office that the right to work was "not required" and that the office "is able to sponsor all working visas". The live 2027-28 vacancy, read on 30 September 2026, says something narrower: "We have a limited number of visa sponsorships available for this graduate role. Sponsorship will be considered for eligible candidates who require it, subject to availability and business requirements."
Same firm, same office, same role family, two years apart. The recent document is the one that binds, and it converts a stated capability into a rationed one. For an international student, that moves the visa question from the offer stage to the application stage.
Nothing here tells you that other firms tightened. Most UK pages read for this guide say nothing about sponsorship at all, and silence is not a refusal. The rule we follow is to ask the recruiter in writing, early, and to treat the answer as specific to the office and the intake year.
The salary floor that sits under any sponsored offer is a government number rather than a firm one. It is on the UK firms page with its source at gov.uk, because that page is where the pay arithmetic lives.
How much smaller the graduate intake got, recomputed by hand
High Fliers Research surveys the UK's top 100 graduate employers each December and publishes in January. Its list of employers, on the same page, includes Bain, BCG, McKinsey, Accenture, Capgemini, Deloitte, EY, KPMG, PwC, IBM and Newton Consulting. Read on 30 September 2026, its publication page states the falls year by year: "employers reduced their graduate recruitment by 5.1% in 2025, after a dramatic 14.6% drop in graduate vacancies in 2024, and a decrease of 6.4% in 2023", then a further 0.5 percent expected in 2026.
Compounding those in the order the source gives them: 0.936 times 0.854 is 0.799344. Times 0.949 is 0.758577. Times 0.995 is 0.754785. Subtract from 1 and the drop is 24.5 percent, which is the figure the researcher publishes.
The recomputation earns its place because of what it reveals. The 24.5 percent includes the 2026 target, so only three of the four falls have happened. The drop already recorded is 1 minus 0.758577, or 24.1 percent. The source itself compares the total with earlier shocks, when "graduate vacancies fell by 12.3% and 23.3% respectively" in 2020 and in 2008-2009.
Two limits, stated plainly. This covers the top 100 employers across all sectors, and the public page does not break consulting out. And it counts vacancies rather than applications. On the application side, the Cambridge guide reports "around 8,200 applications per employer and average of 76 applications per vacancy" for the 2021-2022 cycle, and those two numbers imply about 108 vacancies per employer, since 76 times 108 is 8,208.
What to do in the fortnight before a rolling deadline
Rolling review changes the order of work. The plan below assumes you have two weeks and one application to spend, and it puts the irreversible things first.
- Submit early in the window rather than late. On a rolling screen, the file read in week one competes against fewer files than the file read the night before the cut.
- Rewrite the CV for an anonymized read. Take the name off, then check that every line still carries a grade, a date, a quantity or an outcome. Anything that only worked because a reader recognized your school is now doing nothing.
- Choose the single track deliberately, where a firm allows one application. Read the two job descriptions side by side and pick on the work, since you cannot hold both open.
- Do one timed numerical set and one critical reasoning set on consecutive days. The blended assessment mixes both, and the five-day reflex the careers service describes leaves no room to start cold.
- Record one answer on video, once, and watch it. The one-way video assessment is reviewed later by a human, and the only variable you control is whether you have heard yourself before.
- Then run one case per interview format you will face. Four case interviews across two rounds means four rehearsals, with the partner round timed at 45 minutes rather than 30.
Where our product fits is step 4 and step 6, and it fits narrowly. Our drills score a structure or a calculation against dimensions whose weights we wrote ourselves and publish in full: Coverage 45, Separation 25, Depth 20, Concision 10, read from our own code and listed on how an answer is assessed. They do not teach UK case content, they do not replicate any firm's online assessment, and our simulator page says of itself that 0 of 6 simulators are live. For the blended assessment specifically, ask your university careers service what free test platforms it licenses, because several UK services license them and the practice is closer to the real format than anything we run.
What no UK consulting source on this page publishes
Four things are missing from every UK page read for this guide, and they are the four most asked.
There is no minimum degree classification anywhere. OC&C asks for "A strong academic record" and names no grade. PA Consulting writes "Open to graduates with a degree in any subject" and "No prerequisites in terms of degree". The Cambridge guide, which is the most complete UK document we read, prints no threshold either. An earlier version of this page claimed several firms publish a minimum, sometimes with A-level requirements. We could not source it, so it is gone.
There is no place count and no selection rate, at any stage, at any UK firm we read. The only ratio available is sectoral and four years old.
There is no named test publisher for the OC&C assessment. The posting describes the content of the exercise and never says who supplies it.
And there is no candidate account of a UK process in our research base. We looked on 30 September 2026 and failed: the forum route is closed to our user agent, the transcript tooling is unavailable, and the two experience entries we hold are an employer blog post and a recruiting brochure. That control stays red in our own audit rather than being filled with something we invented.
What changed on this UK guide, and when
30 September 2026. Two claims were removed and both had been asserted without a source.
The first was that degree classification minimums are published by several UK firms, sometimes alongside A-level requirements. Nothing we read supports it. The one firm that writes about degrees at all writes the opposite for subject: PA Consulting says entry is open to any degree subject and lists no prerequisite. OC&C asks for a strong academic record without naming a grade, and the Cambridge guide prints no threshold across 19 pages.
The second was that assessment centres are more common in the UK than in other markets. The University of Cambridge careers service writes that they are not common for consulting roles, and the one UK process published stage by stage contains no group exercise, no presentation and no candidate day. A reader who believed the old sentence would have spent hours rehearsing an exercise that the sources say is unlikely to arrive.
The same pass added the six published stages, the interview minute count, the AI screening disclosure, the sponsorship change between the 2024 brochure and the 2026 vacancy, and the recomputed 24.5 percent. Every number above carries the page it came from and the date we read it. Where a question had no published answer, the section above says so instead of filling the gap.
Before you go: where do you actually stand?
A short diagnostic: a few questions about where you are, one real case, and a score on the dimensions firms publish. Free, no card.
Sources
Primary sources only: the firm, the test vendor, or the institution concerned. Each carries the date we last read it.
- careers.occstrategy.com/vacancies/388/associate-consultant-2027-28--strategy-london-office.htmlthe 1 November 2026 deadline, the six published stages, the interview lengths and interviewer levels, the anonymized CV rule, the AI screening disclosure, the rolling review, the limited sponsorship wording, and the one application per candidate rulechecked 2026-09-30
- careers.cam.ac.uk/files/management_strategy_consulting_-_quick_guide_to_recruitment_2024.pdfthat assessment centres are uncommon in consulting roles, the term-based recruiting timetable by year of study, the five day test window, the named test families, the one page CV convention, and the sector application figureschecked 2026-09-30
- paconsulting.com/careers/early-careers/uk-graduate-programmesthe second UK calendar pattern, roles opening in the autumn on a rolling basis, and entry open to any degree subjectchecked 2026-09-30
- highfliers.co.uk/publication-the-graduate-market-reportthe three annual falls in UK graduate recruitment, the 2026 target, the 24.5 percent cumulative figure, the 2020 and 2008 comparisons, and the survey method the researcher describeschecked 2026-09-30
- mckinsey.com/uk/overviewthat this firm names one UK office, London, on its own UK overview pagechecked 2026-09-30
- bcg.com/officesthat this firm names two UK locations, London and London Canary Wharfchecked 2026-09-30
Edits the firm and case guides on this site. Reads each claim about a recruiting process back to the firm's own page before it is published, keeps the source ledger dated, and owns the corrections.
How this guide was made
- Written against a published editorial process, not from memory. Every claim about a firm's process is either linked to that firm's own page or absent. We say what we could not verify rather than filling the gap.
- Each page carries a dated source ledger, below. When a firm changes a programme or a deadline, the date tells you how far to trust what you just read.
We look for first-hand candidate accounts for every firm guide. Where we found none we could source, the page says so and carries the firm's own words instead. Nothing here is dressed up as testimony, and if your own experience contradicts what you read, tell us and we will correct it and date the change.
Something wrong or out of date here? Tell us and we will correct it and date the change.
