Protocol Career
Five overlapping blank paper documents of differing lengths lie on a smooth slate surface with soft shadows. Title: “Deloitte Discovery Internship: Five Postings Disagree”, over the Protocol Career wordmark.

Deloitte Discovery Internship: Five Postings Disagree

Discovery eligibility, length and pay change by business unit, and Deloitte deleted the program page. What the archived requisitions actually required.

10 min read
In short
  • There is no single Discovery internship. Eligibility, length, pay and work authorization all change depending on which Deloitte business posted the role.
  • Tax asked for sophomores or juniors. Audit and Consulting asked for a 2028 graduation date in the same cycle, which silently excludes juniors.
  • The sophomore track ran seven weeks. The freshman track ran four.
  • Deloitte moved a published closing date on a live requisition, from 1 May 2026 to 22 February 2026, without explanation.
  • The descriptive program page was deleted between April 2024 and July 2025, and the tile that still points at it leads to a page that never says Discovery.

Deloitte does not run one Discovery internship. It runs several, posted by different businesses, and they disagree with each other about who can apply, how long it lasts and what it pays.

Treat that as a warning about how to read the thing rather than as a criticism of it. A guide that tells you "the Discovery internship requires a 2028 graduation date" is quoting the Audit posting at a reader who may be looking at the Tax one, where the rule is written a different way and admits a different group.

The Deloitte Discovery program is best read as a family of postings rather than as one program with one rulebook. On top of that, the descriptive page that once explained the program has been deleted. Everything below comes from Deloitte's own postings and pages, each with its capture date, and was checked 29 September 2026.

The Discovery internship page Deloitte removed

The student careers page still carries a tile that says "Discovery internship" and "Immerse yourself in engaging training and projects, valuable mentorship, and various networking opportunities." Follow it and you land on Deloitte's general internships page, where the word Discovery does not appear anywhere in the body.

The page that used to explain it lived at a www2 address. Its last successful archive capture is 7 April 2024. By 25 April 2025 the URL served a redirect, and by 25 July 2025 a 404. It has not been replaced.

What it said, in the capture of 7 April 2024:

"The Discovery internship is designed to expose freshman and sophomore level summer interns to different client service businesses at Deloitte."

"Your internship experience will include personalized mentorship, professional training and continuous learning through Deloitte University."

"Sophomore Discovery interns may have the opportunity to receive a client service internship at the conclusion of the Discovery Internship Program."

"College freshman or sophomore with definitive plans to pursue a bachelor's degree in a business, accounting, economics, STEM, or related field"

"Strong academic credentials (preferred minimum GPA of a 3.2 at the end of the academic year)"

An earlier capture, 23 September 2022, carried something the 2024 version had already dropped: participants could be part of a NextGen Leaders Program, with a scholarship paid at the start of the internship for sophomore-level participants. That wording is gone and Deloitte published no note about it.

Reading about Deloitte is not preparing for Deloitte.

Take the readiness check

Five Discovery internship requisitions, side by side

We read five Discovery requisitions across the 2025, 2026 and 2027 summer cycles, all in dated archive captures because every live URL now errors.

Posting, business and cycle Eligibility as written Length Published pay Cities
Audit & Assurance, accounting profile, Summer 2027 anticipated graduation date of 2028 seven weeks $28/hour to $32/hour 58
Audit & Assurance, business and technology profile, Summer 2026 anticipated graduation date of 2028 seven weeks $28/hour to $32/hour 58
Tax, Summer 2026 College Sophomores or Juniors not stated "$28 to $32" 47
Consulting, Summer 2026 anticipated graduation date of 2028 not stated $32/hour 12
Government and Public Services Consulting, Summer 2026 anticipated graduation date of 2028 not stated none published 1

Start with the eligibility column, because it is the one that decides whether you can apply at all. Tax writes a class year. Audit, Consulting and Government and Public Services write a graduation year. Those are not the same test. A student graduating in 2028 was a sophomore in spring 2026, so the graduation-year wording quietly excludes the juniors that the Tax posting invites by name, in the very same cycle.

Then the pay column. The hourly unit is present on some postings and absent from the Tax one, which simply says "$28 to $32". Consulting publishes a flat $32 an hour with no range. The Government and Public Services posting publishes no figure at all: the paragraph that carries the range on every other requisition is missing from it.

And the geography column tells you where the program actually is. Audit runs it in 58 cities. Consulting in 12. The Government and Public Services role we read listed one location, Arlington, Virginia.

The CPA clause changes meaning between postings

Three different formulations appear, and they are not interchangeable.

Audit's accounting profile makes it a requirement: "Definitive plans to meet minimum educational requirements for CPA licensure (which may differ from the educational requirements to sit for the CPA exam) in the state of your assigned office location prior to beginning full-time employment".

Audit's business and technology profile carries the identical sentence under its preferred qualifications rather than its required ones.

Tax and Consulting use a third standard: "For anticipated accounting majors, you must be CPA eligible, including that you will have the required credit hours to sit for the CPA exam, upon graduation."

Notice what Deloitte itself flags inside the first quotation. Licensure requirements "may differ from" exam requirements. So Audit holds you to the licensure standard and Tax holds you to the exam standard, and Audit is the page that tells you the two are different. For a student choosing a credit plan, that distinction is worth real money and real semesters.

Work authorization splits three ways as well. Audit says "Limited immigration sponsorship may be available". Consulting and Government and Public Services both require candidates to be authorized "without the need for employer sponsorship, now or at any time in the future". The Tax posting we read carries no work authorization clause at all.

Length, and a calculation with its assumption stated

The sophomore and junior track "Throughout the course of the seven-week internship, interns are assigned to one or more client projects where they will receive mentorship and support to help their success on the engagement."

The freshman track, from the Summer 2025 postings: "Throughout the course of the four-week internship, interns are assigned to one or more projects where they will receive mentorship and support to help their success."

The Deloitte sophomore internship ran seven weeks and the Deloitte freshman internship four. The sophomore track is three weeks longer, which is 75% more time, since seven divided by four is 1.75. The freshman postings also dropped the word client: those interns work on "projects", the older ones on "client projects".

Deloitte publishes no hours per week, so any pay total needs an assumption. Ours: at 40 hours a week, seven weeks is 280 hours. At the bottom of the published band, $28 an hour, that is $7,840. At the top, $32, it is $8,960. The gap between the two ends of one published range is therefore $1,120 across a single summer. We multiplied those by hand, and the 40-hour figure is our assumption rather than Deloitte's statement.

The freshman band was narrower, "$31 to $32", on a four-week track. So the shorter program paid more per hour at the floor than the longer one, which is the sort of thing that only becomes visible when you read several postings instead of one.

Are you ready to get an offer at Deloitte?

The deadline that moved, counted

Deloitte publishes closing dates and nothing else. No opening date, no window, and the words "rolling" and "first-come" appear on none of the postings we read.

One requisition shows why that matters. The Audit and Assurance accounting profile role for Summer 2026, requisition 303899, was captured twice.

On 3 August 2025 it read: "Recruiting for this role ends on May 1, 2026."

On 2 February 2026 the same requisition read: "Recruiting for this role ends on February 22, 2026."

Count the difference. From 22 February to 1 May 2026 is 68 days: six days left in February, 31 in March, 30 in April, and the first of May. The same job, the same identifier, and a closing date brought forward by more than two months.

Deloitte gives no reason. It does not describe this as a rolling close, and it never used that phrase. What a candidate can take from it is behavioral rather than contractual: a published closing date on a Deloitte requisition is an upper bound on how long you have, and treating it as a fixed date is how people find a role closed in February that they had diarized for May.

Closing dates also differ by business inside a cycle. Audit and Tax both showed 1 May 2026. Consulting showed "ends on March 2026" and Government and Public Services "ends in March 2026", both without a day.

What Deloitte publishes about the process, and what it does not

No Discovery posting names an assessment, a game, a recorded video, or a number of interview rounds. The only process description Deloitte publishes sits on a firm-wide recruiting tips page, and it never says it applies to this program.

Its useful lines, quoted: "Once your application has been submitted, your resume and qualifications will be reviewed, and you will be contacted if you are selected for an interview." Then "If selected for an interview, you will be contacted by a member of our recruiting team to schedule an initial interview, usually within one to two weeks." Then "Expect two to three rounds of interviews, via either telephone, video, or in person." And finally "If you are receiving an offer, you will likely have it in writing within one week of your final interview."

That is a firm-wide description and we are labeling it as one rather than borrowing its authority for a program Deloitte did not attach it to.

Not published anywhere we could read: the internship dates, the format, whether it is in person or hybrid, the opening date of any application window, which businesses will run it in a given year, and any conversion rate to a later internship. On the last point the postings are careful with their own wording: "Depending on performance and other factors, Discovery interns may have the opportunity to receive a subsequent internship opportunity at Deloitte."

When a Deloitte Discovery internship posting opens, and what to do

On 29 September 2026, Deloitte's own job board returned 31 results for "Internship", running through Summer 2027, Fall 2027, Winter 2027, Winter 2028 and Summer 2028. None was a Discovery role. A search for "Discovery" returned 122 results whose only matching titles concern forensic work and eDiscovery. All eight Discovery requisition identifiers we traced return errors.

The Summer 2027 cycle closed. The Summer 2028 cycle had not opened. Three things follow for a first-year or second-year student.

  1. Search the board by requisition rather than by program page. The descriptive page is gone and the tile leads nowhere useful. A posting is the only document that carries eligibility, and it carries a different one depending on which business wrote it.
  2. Read the posting you are applying to, line by line. Class year or graduation year, CPA licensure or CPA exam, sponsorship or no sponsorship: all three vary. The version of this guide we are replacing described a single set of rules, and no single set exists.
  3. Be ready before the board opens. Deloitte summer internship postings for this program appeared in August in the archived record, and a closing date can move earlier. The resume is the only document any of these requisitions asks for, and our consulting resume guide covers what it has to carry at this stage. For the interview rounds Deloitte does describe under its strategy brand, our Monitor Deloitte overview covers the three countries that publish one, and where we score them the weights are our own scale, set out on the method page.

How this page was assembled

Four Deloitte properties, read four different ways, all on 29 September 2026:

Every quotation is tagged to its capture in the text above. The 68-day count, the 75% length comparison and the $7,840 and $8,960 figures are ours, done by hand, and the 40-hour assumption behind the last two is stated where it is used rather than buried here.

Two method notes are worth passing on, because they are what made this page possible. The first is that a dead requisition is still readable: Deloitte retires job URLs quickly, and the archive index for apply.deloitte.com lists every Discovery posting it ever captured, which is how five of them could be compared instead of one. The second is that reading several postings from the same cycle is the only way to see the contradictions. Any single requisition looks internally consistent. It is the Tax posting next to the Audit posting that shows two incompatible eligibility formats running at the same time, and that comparison is invisible to anyone working from the program page, which no longer exists anyway.

Before you go: where do you actually stand?

A short diagnostic: a few questions about where you are, one real case, and a score on the dimensions firms publish. Free, no card.

Sources

Primary sources only: the firm, the test vendor, or the institution concerned. Each carries the date we last read it.

deloittediscovery-internshipsophomore-internshipearly-career
Written and reviewed by
Elias MarchandStrategy editor

Edits the firm and case guides on this site. Reads each claim about a recruiting process back to the firm's own page before it is published, keeps the source ledger dated, and owns the corrections.

How this guide was made

  • Written against a published editorial process, not from memory. Every claim about a firm's process is either linked to that firm's own page or absent. We say what we could not verify rather than filling the gap.
  • Each page carries a dated source ledger, below. When a firm changes a programme or a deadline, the date tells you how far to trust what you just read.

We look for first-hand candidate accounts for every firm guide. Where we found none we could source, the page says so and carries the firm's own words instead. Nothing here is dressed up as testimony, and if your own experience contradicts what you read, tell us and we will correct it and date the change.

Something wrong or out of date here? Tell us and we will correct it and date the change.