Protocol Career
Small, uneven stacks of blank cards neatly aligned on a smooth grey surface. Title: “Consulting Interview Rounds 2026: Who Publishes a Number”, over the Protocol Career wordmark.

Consulting Interview Rounds 2026: Who Publishes a Number

Ten of nineteen firms publish a round or interview count. Nine publish none. Here is every published number, with the firm and the region it belongs to.

8 min read
In short
  • Of nineteen firms whose recruiting pages we read, ten publish a number of rounds or interviews somewhere. Nine publish none at all.
  • Oliver Wyman's Latin America page gives the only full interview count we found at a top-tier strategy firm: two rounds, two interviews each, four in total, plus a 15-minute fit conversation.
  • Bridgespan runs two rounds in the United States and three in Singapore, in the same document, for the same job title.
  • OC&C's eight office sequences hold 34 interviews between them, from three in Australia to six in Rotterdam. The average of 4.25 describes no office.
  • A round is not a fixed unit. One round means two interviews at Strategy& UK, two at Oliver Wyman Latin America, and an uncounted series at Analysis Group.

Nineteen firms, read one careers page at a time. Ten publish a number of rounds or interviews somewhere on their own site. Nine publish none at all, and four of those nine say in writing that the count depends on the role. Sources checked 30 September 2026.

This page gives every published number with the firm and the region attached. Where a firm gives no number, that is written down as a refusal rather than filled in with an average.

Ten interview round counts published, nine firms silent

The split is the finding. Ten of nineteen firms give a figure; the other nine describe stages and stop. Three of the ten publish their number for one country only, while their global page carries none.

Firm and region What is published Interviews, counted
Oliver Wyman, Latin America two rounds, two interviews each 4 cases plus 1 fit
Bridgespan, United States two rounds 4 to 5
Bridgespan, Singapore three rounds not stated
BCG, Switzerland first round plus final round 4 cases
OC&C, eight offices stage lists per office 3 to 6
Analysis Group two rounds not stated
Strategy&, United Kingdom two rounds, three for some 2 in round one
Deloitte, United States two to three rounds not stated
ZS two to four rounds not stated
KPMG, United States early careers two live video interviews 2
Porsche Consulting four named steps not stated

The nine that publish nothing are McKinsey, Bain, Accenture, EY, Roland Berger, Charles River Associates, Capgemini, PA Consulting and Alvarez & Marsal. Deloitte appears in both lists, because its Australian page declines the number its United States page gives.

Accenture states the refusal plainly: "The number of interviews you'll have depends on the role." EY writes that "The style, format and number of rounds of EY interviews are based on business needs." Bain says only that "you'll have several rounds of interviews."

Reading about a consulting firm is not preparing for a consulting firm.

Take the readiness check

An interview round is not a fixed unit

Counting rounds across firms compares things that are not the same size. The word covers a single conversation at one firm and a full day at another.

Strategy& UK spells its first round out: "you'll be invited to a first round of two back-to-back interviews." Each runs about 45 minutes. One is an unstructured case, the other a structured case built on "a case study with a slide pack, which reflects a real client project we have worked on," with about ten minutes to read it.

Oliver Wyman's Latin America page also puts two interviews in a round, and adds the total so nobody has to multiply: "Two rounds, with two interviews per round (four in total)."

Analysis Group uses the same word for something uncounted. Its second round "involves a series of interviews conducted by our consultants." A series is a shape without a quantity, and the page gives no other figure.

So two rounds means four interviews at Oliver Wyman Latin America, at least three at Bridgespan United States, and an unknown number at Analysis Group. A guide that tells you consulting has two rounds has told you almost nothing about your day. Stage count decides more than the round label does, since six independent eliminatory stages at a 0.9 pass rate survive at 53 percent.

OC&C, eight offices, thirty-four consulting interviews

One brochure settles the question of whether a firm has a process. OC&C's 2024 global graduate recruitment brochure prints a stage list for each of eight offices.

We recounted every office by hand for this page, adding the interviews and leaving out online tests.

Step count by office Interviews Note
London 4 two at 30 minutes, two at 45
Milan 4 no online test, an informal HR conversation first
Paris 4 all four at 60 minutes
Rotterdam 6 includes a 90-minute written case
Warsaw 5 an HR interview sits between the two case stages
Australia 3 the shortest published sequence
United States 4 no online test, all four at 30 minutes
Germany 4 Munich and Düsseldorf

Adding the column gives 34 interviews across eight offices. Divided by eight, that is 4.25, and no office runs 4.25 interviews. Five of the eight run exactly four; the outliers are Australia at three and Rotterdam at six.

A correction belongs here. Our own research file for the sibling page recorded this range as three to seven. Seven counted Rotterdam's online numerical test as an interview. Rotterdam has six interviews and one test, and the published page had it right.

Where the interview round count moves inside one brand

Three firms in this set publish different counts under the same name, which is why the region has to travel with the number.

Bridgespan is the clearest case. Its applicant toolkit describes the United States process as "one or two case interviews via Zoom video" in the first round, then a final round of "two additional case interviews and one behavioral interview." That is four to five interviews across two rounds. The same document gives Singapore a first round, a second round and a final round, each with its own dated window.

BCG publishes four unnumbered global stages and a fully counted Swiss sequence: "a virtual cognitive test, followed by one virtual first-round case interview and a final round of three in-person case interviews." The Swiss page adds something the global one never says, which is that "a decision may already be made at that stage" after the first round.

Deloitte publishes "two to three rounds of interviews, via either telephone, video, or in person" for the United States, and for Australia "The exact format and number of interviews may vary depending on the role."

Three brands, six answers. Treating any one of them as the firm's process makes the page wrong in at least one country.

Are you ready to get an offer at a consulting firm?

A candidate's own count, from 2016

Firms publish stages. They do not publish what a day feels like from the chair. One named account fills part of that gap, and it needs its label.

Roman Fernandez, later a senior consultant at Roland Berger, described his 2016 campaign to the trade press. He had "two interview rounds with Roland Berger over phone and Skype" before a final round in the Chicago office in December 2016. That final round ran three hours: a 45-minute behavioral fit interview, a 45-minute business knowledge interview, 45 minutes of quiet time with a written case, and 45 minutes of presentation and discussion in front of a senior partner and a senior consultant.

Those four blocks add to 180 minutes, which matches the three hours he reports. He was told he could not use slides and worked on flipcharts and a whiteboard instead. The offer arrived the next business day.

One person, one office, one campaign that is now nine years old, at a firm that publishes no round count today. This is an anecdote and it is labeled as one. What it adds is the only minute-by-minute breakdown of a final round anyone in this corpus has put on the record.

Four steps to read your own invitation

Every firm above that names a source for your actual format names the same one: your recruiter, or the email in front of you. Here is how to turn that email into a plan.

  1. Count the interviews rather than the rounds. Ask the recruiter how many conversations you will have and how long each runs. Oliver Wyman publishes four and Strategy& publishes two per round, which means the same word describes both.
  2. Ask what each interview contains. Bridgespan separates case interviews from a behavioral interview by name. Strategy& separates an unstructured case from a structured one with a slide pack. Those need different preparation.
  3. Ask whether anything is eliminatory. Oliver Wyman Latin America publishes the answer for itself: "all stages are evaluative and eliminatory. Progression to each next round depends on performance in the previous phase." BCG Switzerland warns that a decision may land after round one.
  4. Ask when you will hear. Deloitte publishes one to two weeks to schedule a first interview. KPMG publishes "Most decisions are made within two weeks of interviewing." Others publish nothing, and a date you asked for beats a date you assumed.

Our own drills score the parts these rounds keep testing. The structure rubric weights Coverage 45 out of 100, which is the share a first-round case usually turns on, and you can run it free and without an account on the drills page. The weights are ours and the reasoning behind them sits on how an answer is assessed. Nothing here reproduces any firm's round, and for the firms above that publish no case interview at all there is nothing here to practice.

What none of the nineteen publishes

The gaps are as consistent as the counts, and they are the same five gaps at every firm we read.

Nobody publishes an industry norm. The 4.25 average from OC&C is an OC&C number, and it describes none of its own offices. Writing that consulting has two rounds, or three, requires a source that does not exist.

Nobody publishes what moves a process from the bottom of its own range to the top. ZS gives two to four rounds, Deloitte gives two to three, Strategy& adds a third for some experienced hires. All three name the range and none names the trigger.

Nobody publishes a pass rate. Oliver Wyman says every stage eliminates, which tells you the shape without the proportion. No firm in this set puts a percentage on any stage, so any figure you read elsewhere was estimated by somebody.

Nobody publishes what carries between rounds. Bain writes "After each interview, you'll learn exactly how it went," which is a promise to the candidate about feedback. No page we read says whether your final-round interviewer sees the first-round notes.

And nobody counts the interviews behind their own vaguer words. "Several rounds" at Bain and "a series" at Analysis Group are the firms' own phrasing, left uncounted on purpose. For a fuller map of the sequences themselves, the sibling page on the consulting interview process carries the stage lists; for what the last stage adds, see preparing for a final round.

Before you go: where do you actually stand?

A short diagnostic: a few questions about where you are, one real case, and a score on the dimensions firms publish. Free, no card.

Sources

Primary sources only: the firm, the test vendor, or the institution concerned. Each carries the date we last read it.

consulting-recruitinginterview-processinterview-roundscase-interview
Written and reviewed by
Elias MarchandStrategy editor

Edits the firm and case guides on this site. Reads each claim about a recruiting process back to the firm's own page before it is published, keeps the source ledger dated, and owns the corrections.

How this guide was made

  • Written against a published editorial process, not from memory. Every claim about a firm's process is either linked to that firm's own page or absent. We say what we could not verify rather than filling the gap.
  • Each page carries a dated source ledger, below. When a firm changes a programme or a deadline, the date tells you how far to trust what you just read.

We look for first-hand candidate accounts for every firm guide. Where we found none we could source, the page says so and carries the firm's own words instead. Nothing here is dressed up as testimony, and if your own experience contradicts what you read, tell us and we will correct it and date the change.

Something wrong or out of date here? Tell us and we will correct it and date the change.