Capgemini Invent Case Interview: 45 Minutes, Five Criteria
Capgemini Invent US publishes a 45 minute case, five criteria and a full sample prompt. Its UK graduate route has no case at all. Sweden names six steps.
- Capgemini Invent US publishes its case in full: about 45 minutes, guided, five assessment criteria, and a complete sample prompt with four questions.
- The UK Accelerate graduate route contains no case interview. It runs a recorded digital interview and a half day assessment centre with a strengths based interview.
- Invent's Swedish postings name a six step funnel, and one track runs the on-site case as a group exercise while another runs it individually.
- Capgemini's group recruitment process page names no case, no assessment and no round count. Everything precise lives on national pages and in postings.
- The entry title moves by country: Management consultant in Sweden, Associate Consultant in Belgium and Germany, Junior Consultant in the Netherlands.
Capgemini Invent publishes its case interview in unusual detail. How long it runs. Who plays which role. The five things it assesses. A full sample prompt with four questions, and six tips for the room. All of it sits on one page of its US careers site.
Then the same firm runs a UK graduate route with no case at all. First a recorded digital interview. Then a half day assessment centre, built on a group exercise and a strengths based interview. Two Invent teams, two ways of deciding.
This guide carries both. It adds the six steps Invent's own Swedish postings name, and sizes the published prompt in dollars. Sources checked 29 September 2026.
The five things Invent says the case assesses
The students and graduates page sets the format first. The case is guided. It runs about 45 minutes. You solve a business problem in real time. The interviewer plays the client and holds the facts you need, which Invent states in so many words.
| Invent's criterion | What it rewards in the room |
|---|---|
| Structured problem solving | naming your branches before you enter one |
| Quantitative and qualitative analysis | a number and a judgment, on the same question |
| Communication and conveying ideas effectively | a listener who can follow without reconstructing |
| Thinking and presenting under pressure | composure when the client pushes back |
| Thinking holistically, including identifying risks and mitigation tactics | a recommendation that carries its own risks |
Invent marks that list "Not exhaustive", so treat it as the published floor.
The fifth one is worth rehearsing, because few firms test it on purpose. Invent asks for risks and ways to reduce them, in the same breath. A risk named with no fix is half the answer. The other half is free.
Its six tips run in order. Take your time. Ask for clarification. Take notes throughout. Sum up the issues and findings. State your recommendations. Then give next steps and the impact you expect. That last one shapes the whole answer: the case ends on impact, after the conclusion.
Reading about Capgemini Invent is not preparing for Capgemini Invent.
Take the readiness checkThe prompt Invent publishes, and how to size it
Invent prints a full example. A car maker wants to know what it should do about electric and self-driving vehicles, and wants a view on its future in those markets. Four questions follow. The first is a sizing: what is the market size opportunity in North America.
Everything below is our own chain of assumptions, built for the exercise. A sizing question tests assumptions, so none of these numbers is a fact we looked up. Say each one out loud as you use it.
- Start from vehicles. Assume 17 million new light vehicles sold in North America a year.
- Take an electric share. Assume 30% by the target year, which is 5.1 million electric vehicles.
- Price them. At an average $48,000, that is $244.8bn of vehicle value.
- Cut to the client's slice. If the client supplies the electric drivetrain at 22% of vehicle value, its opportunity is $53.86bn, which we will carry as roughly $54bn.
- Size the second business separately. If 8% of those electric vehicles ship with an autonomy system carrying $3,500 of content, that is 408,000 units and $1.4bn.
Step five answers the question Invent asked. Electric and self-driving are one line in the prompt. In the math they are two very different businesses: the self-driving number is about 2.7% of the drivetrain number. Size them as one and you have answered a question the client never asked.
That also gives you the ending Invent's fifth criterion wants. Go where the money is. Size the smaller bet honestly. Then name the risk: the electric share carries the whole answer. Move 30% to 20% and the drivetrain number drops by a third.
Three Invent routes, three different days
Set the published routes next to each other and the differences are structural.
| Invent US | Invent UK, Accelerate | Invent Sweden, graduate | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Steps published | the case, in isolation | three | six |
| Case interview | yes, about 45 minutes | none | "On-site case" at step four |
| Group exercise | not mentioned | yes, at the assessment centre | on the Data and AI track, "On-site group case" |
| Recorded interview | not mentioned | yes, the Digital Interview | yes, a video interview at step three |
| Application limit | not stated | one role per recruitment season | not stated |
The Swedish postings are the only Invent papers we found that name the whole funnel. CV and grade review. Phone interview. Video interview. On-site case. Final interview. Offer. Two near identical postings differ on one word. One says "On-site case". The Data and AI one says "On-site group case". So the format follows the track, and the country decides nothing here.
Sweden also carries the hardest application rule in this section. You send a CV in English. You also merge your high school, bachelor and master transcripts into one file. Invent states that incomplete applications will not be considered. Identity is checked against your ID card.
The UK route, which has no case
Invent's Accelerate programme publishes a three step process, and a candidate preparing cases for it is preparing the wrong thing.
Step one is the application, reviewed on a first come, first served basis. Applying early is a real advantage here in a way it is not everywhere.
Step two is a Digital Interview, where you answer a series of questions on camera. Invent provides an unassessed practice demonstration beforehand, which is worth using because the recorded format punishes a first take.
Step three is a half day assessment centre. It holds a group exercise and a one to one strengths based interview, plus ice breakers and a short talk about the pathway you applied to. A strengths interview asks what you enjoy and what you do naturally. Rehearsed achievement stories answer a different question.
Two rules bind the UK route. You may apply for one role per recruitment season, which runs September to August. And Invent says that grades count toward the decision without being used to screen people out on their own. The firm also tells candidates they are not in competition and will need to work together on the day. Read that as an instruction for the group exercise.
Are you ready to get an offer at Capgemini Invent?
What the group process page leaves out
Capgemini's group recruitment process page is the page most candidates find first. It is the least useful one here. It says the application takes three to five minutes. It says interviews may be by phone, video or in person. It says you might get a mix of behavioral, technical and cultural fit interviews and assessments. It gives no round count and no duration, names no test, and never mentions a case.
The national pages carry what it leaves out. Capgemini India publishes proctored online technical and language tests. It names an aptitude test covering logical reasoning, verbal ability and quantitative skills. It adds a group discussion for select roles, and one or two technical interviews. It also warns that video interviews may be recorded, with consent asked for first.
The UK graduate FAQ holds the only candidate AI guidance we found at Capgemini, and it is a relaxed one. The firm says it is comfortable with AI for finding roles and drafting. It asks you not to use it for mass generic applications. It states that it uses AI to streamline some steps, and that its selection decisions are always made by its team. One hard rule sits on the same page. Fail at any stage and you wait for the next cycle to apply again.
Where our weights land on an Invent case
Invent lists five criteria and attaches no weights, and marks its own list as not exhaustive. No firm we have read publishes a marking scheme. The weights below are ours, read from the code that runs our grader, each out of a hundred, with the reasoning on how an answer is assessed.
- Assumption chain30
- Scope25
- Arithmetic25
- Sanity check20
| Case math | Answer 40 · Working 25 · Units 15 · Interpretation 20 |
|---|---|
| Structuring | Coverage 45 · Separation 25 · Depth 20 · Concision 10 |
| Idea generation | Breadth 30 · Buckets 30 · Specificity 20 · Prioritisation 20 |
| Exhibits | Observation 25 · Implication 25 · So what 30 · Next test 20 |
| Synthesis | Answer first 35 · Evidence 25 · Risk 20 · Next step 20 |
Assumption chain takes 30 of 100, the largest share, and the sizing above is why. Five assumptions made the answer. Each one is worth more than the multiplication that followed it.
Scope takes 25. That is step five: recognizing that the prompt named two markets and sizing them separately. A candidate who merges them has a scope error no arithmetic can repair.
Arithmetic takes 25 and sanity check takes 20. The check here is cheap and worth saying out loud. 17 million vehicles at $48,000 is roughly $800bn of vehicle value. A drivetrain answer of $54bn is about 7% of that, which is the right size for one system in a car.
The market sizing drill practices the four together, and the structuring drill covers the branch discipline Invent's first criterion asks for.
What Capgemini does not publish
Where the case sits in the US process. Invent describes the case in detail and never says which round it is, or how many rounds there are.
Whether the US case exists outside the US. Sweden has one. The UK graduate route does not. Nothing states a rule.
Group sizes, either for the Swedish group case or the UK assessment centre.
The length of the UK digital interview, or how many questions it contains.
The size of the UK assessment centre pool, or what share of it is invited.
Any threshold, on the case, on the Indian tests, or on the digital interview.
A single entry title. Management consultant in Sweden, Associate Consultant in Belgium and Germany, Junior Strategy and Transformation Consultant in Switzerland, Junior Consultant in the Netherlands.
Pay. No Invent page or posting we read publishes a range.
Everything above that is attributed to Capgemini was read on the page or posting it is credited to, with the access route recorded in the ledger. The sizing chain is ours and says so at the top, and the scoring weights are ours, as the section carrying them says.
One firm runs the same forty-five minutes on a different object: West Monroe builds its case on one real project rather than a published criteria list.
What changed on this Capgemini Invent guide
Each entry carries the date of the change.
29 September 2026. A claim that the steps could not be verified. The earlier version said it would not describe Capgemini Invent's screening steps, for lack of any way to check them. Invent US publishes a case page with a length, five criteria and a full sample prompt. Its Swedish postings name six steps in order. That sentence was wrong about the best documented firm in this batch, and it has gone.
29 September 2026. One Invent process. The old page treated Invent as one pipeline, and described its cases in two sentences. Three routes are published. One of them has no case at all. The table above sets them out, with the page each came from.
29 September 2026. The published prompt was never used. Invent gives away a full case prompt, and nobody had worked it, ourselves included. This version sizes it. Every assumption is labeled as ours. The last line says what the math shows about the question Invent asked.
Before you go: where do you actually stand?
A short diagnostic: a few questions about where you are, one real case, and a score on the dimensions firms publish. Free, no card.
Sources
Primary sources only: the firm, the test vendor, or the institution concerned. Each carries the date we last read it.
- capgemini.com/us-en/careers/career-paths/careers-at-capgemini-invent/students-and-graduates/the 45 minute length, the guided format, the five assessment criteria, the published sample prompt and its four questions, and the six conduct tipschecked 2026-09-29
- careers.capgemini.com/job/Stockholm-Management-consultant-GraduateEarly-Career-Professional/1433712633/the six step Swedish funnel, the entry title, the complete application rule and the identity checkchecked 2026-09-29
- capgemini.com/gb-en/careers/career-paths/careers-at-capgemini-invent/accelerate-programme/accelerate-recruitment-process/the three step UK route, the digital interview, the half day assessment centre with a strengths based interview, the one application per season rule and the position on academicschecked 2026-09-29
- capgemini.com/us-en/careers/join-capgemini/recruitment-process/what the group process page does and does not say, including the three to five minute application and the absence of any named assessmentchecked 2026-09-29
- capgemini.com/in-en/careers/join-capgemini/recruitment-process/the Indian sequence, the proctored online assessments, the aptitude test contents, the group discussion and the recorded video interviewschecked 2026-09-29
- capgemini.com/gb-en/careers/career-paths/graduates-and-apprenticeships/graduates/graduates-faqs/the candidate AI guidance, the statement that selection decisions are made by people, the assessment centre pool and the reapplication rulechecked 2026-09-29
Edits the firm and case guides on this site. Reads each claim about a recruiting process back to the firm's own page before it is published, keeps the source ledger dated, and owns the corrections.
How this guide was made
- Written against a published editorial process, not from memory. Every claim about a firm's process is either linked to that firm's own page or absent. We say what we could not verify rather than filling the gap.
- Each page carries a dated source ledger, below. When a firm changes a programme or a deadline, the date tells you how far to trust what you just read.
We look for first-hand candidate accounts for every firm guide. Where we found none we could source, the page says so and carries the firm's own words instead. Nothing here is dressed up as testimony, and if your own experience contradicts what you read, tell us and we will correct it and date the change.
Something wrong or out of date here? Tell us and we will correct it and date the change.
